Book Review- The Hobbit

Book: The Hobbit

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Written: 1937

Published: 1937

 

   

Bilbo Baggins is a respectable Hobbit by anyone’s standard. He lives a peaceable life in his nice quiet hole, until the fateful day when he receives an unexpected visitor. Gandalf the Grey, a wizard, known for causing trouble has come to offer him the chance to go on an adventure that could prove very lucrative- should he survive. Bilbo politely declines, not knowing the decision has already been made for him. The very next day Gandalf returns, joined by an expedition of dwarves in search of a cunning burglar. As songs of far off places, mountains and valleys are sung, something awakens inside Bilbo, something long hidden. Before he knows what he is doing, he finds himself agreeing to be the last member of the party. The band soon sets off on a journey that will take them through dark caverns filled with goblins, enchanted woods, and deep into the lair of a dragon.

When I was a child, my only exposure to the Hobbit was the crappy 80’s cartoon version, so needless to say, when I found out I had to read it in high school (eons ago), I was not exactly looking forward to it. Thankfully, to my surprise, I found that the book was not only nothing like the movie, it was enjoyable to read, which in turn began my love for Tolkien. I love this book for several reasons. Superficially, because once the expedition actually starts on the journey, the book becomes rather fast paced, which is great if, like me, you have the attention span of a squirrel. More than that though, I love the wordplay, the descriptions, the fact that Bilbo’s character proves that even the most unlikely of creatures can become something great. I love Middle Earth itself, and have a great deal of respect for Tolkien and his ability to create an entire world and all of its inhabitants. Really though, the best thing about this book is that it is just plain fun.

I doubt that it will come as a surprise to anyone that I am giving this book a 5 page review. It is absolutely a must read by all people of all ages, though I will caution parents with very small children as some parts can be quite intense. I would also like to encourage anyone who has not read the book to do so before the movie comes out (only one month away!).

Leave a Reply

