Book Review – Legends of Darkness by Georgia L Jones

Title: Remnants of Life
Author: Georgia L. Jones
Written & Published: 2012

In Remnants of Life, Samantha Garrett, a working wife and mother, drops the kid off at school, and gets into a car accident.  How serious?  Human before the accident, she transforms into a vampire-esque warrior called a Samoda.  This is not your mother’s car wreck, people, this is a whole new kettle of fish.  (Or something like that.)

So here’s the deal.  I was really excited to get this book.  And then I started reading.

I’m not a huge fan of first person, because it’s usually done wrong.  And in this case, it was done wrong.  There are a bajillion different ways to write a sentence, but one of the traps I see first person authors doing is falling into the “I verb something” sentence formatting pattern.  Mix it up.  Give us some “Verbing, I something” or “something was verbed” or whatever.   Instead of “I hollered as I shut the bathroom door,” make it “Hollering as I shut the bathroom door,” and it reads a lot better.

Another issue I had was that the dialogue fell a little flat.  For instance, the kid is six and if his dialog had stood alone, there’s no way I would have guessed that.  (I was sort of thinking younger teen, actually, until the MC said he was six, just because he still needed a ride to school…)

With that said, this is a first novel effort from a new author (that’s not redundant; she doesn’t even have a list of short fiction credits) and a fairly new publisher.  She’s only going to get better, and the product is already beautiful.

The storyline pulled me in, and I wanted to keep going and turn the next page.  The character development was good and the creature building was good.

In the end, if you can forgive the first-person I-verb writing style, the payout is worth it.  I’m giving it three out of five pages.

I don’t know why this is required, but here it is:

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review from First Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephen Zimmer
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 17:36:49

    thanks for the review today on Georgia’s book! 🙂

    Reply

  2. AKMamma
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 20:12:03

    Great review Mandi (it is required because of FCC law actually! Bloody government!)

    Reply

    • Mandi M. Lynch, author
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 05:31:30

      The gov’t needs to mind their own freakin’ business and stay out of my life and/or book reviews. lol. Incidentally, my blog is *technically* owned by an Aussie, so I probably don’t have to put that on there since it’s *technically* not an American site. Wonder if the laws govern the *site* or the *person on the site*…? *yawn* whatever. Too tired to care.

      Reply

      • AKMamma
        Nov 25, 2012 @ 10:09:08

        who the hell knows. I just needed to cover asses because the damn First Rule got nested with Seventh Stars site so we have to REALLY Cover our asses so we……. ya

      • Mandi M. Lynch, author
        Nov 27, 2012 @ 19:45:28

        I see. I just like the disclaimer I put on it. “Don’t know why I need this, but since I do, here it is…” lol. Have you read the disclaimer on the sidebar?

      • AKMamma
        Nov 27, 2012 @ 21:17:37

        It doesn’t need to be at the bottom of the post if you already have a FCC disclaimer on your sidebar, which is what the letter said. BUT if it does NOT have an actual FCC disclaimer it does, this is the grey law that blows!

Leave a Reply

