Book Review – Codename Sailor V vol. 2 by Naoko Takeuchi

Title: Codename Sailor V vol. 2
Author/Illustrator: Naoko Takeuchi
Format: Paperback Manga
Written: 1991
Published: 2004
Translated: 2011

After reading the first volume of the Sailor V adventures I was eager to read the second one. In approaching the second book I was not exactly surprised but it was not entirely what I expected. Starting the book, the first thing I noticed was an image in the front area that featured a male character that was reminiscent of Tuxedo Mask. As a Tuxedo Mask fan girl I was instantly intrigued and eager to start reading the book to learn about who he was. This new character goes by the name of Ace. I was not disappointed by him as he was mysteriously debonair and had my interest from the start.

Yet, the book did not focus on him much the first story arch dealt with Ace and then the following story arch digressed into more of a monster of the week type story line where there were these three animal based characters that Sailor V had to fight. It wasn’t as cleverly done the monsters of the week in the first volume and there were a lot of side notes throughout the story arcs that seemed to detract from the story for me.

I admit as I was reading the book it seemed to drag on and I feared I was going to have to give the story a lower rating due to the dropped story line of Ace and the rather boring animal based villains that were fought. What brought the book back into my good graces and made me decide I like it a fair bit was the last two story arcs “Setting out on a New Journey” parts one and two. These final two story arcs have a lot of what makes me love Sailor Moon which is a matter of facing once destiny determining the meaning of love, dealing with questions about who you can call friend and who you can call enemy and a wee bit of romance. It was perfect and the truth about Ace was revealed which was a wonderful surprise and not something I entirely expected. These last two story arcs also set things up for the subsequent Sailor Moon series, which I will be attempting to review a few of those as well starting with the seventh volume next week.

Over all I think I would give the book a four page rating as well despite my complaints because four out of the eight story arcs were amazing and of the other four only three were annoying simply due to some repetition. So if you are looking for a bit of back story and how Sailor V became a popular icon before Sailor Moon awakens then this book and the one before it is a worthy read, particularly for some of the new characters that are added to the universe of Sailor Moon.

Leave a Reply

