Book Review – Vine: An Urban Legend by Michael Williams

Title: Vine: An Urban Legend
Author: Michael Williams
Format: Paperback
Written & Published: 2012

Vine-MichaelWilliams-TourBadge300 (1)

From the back of the book:  Amateur theatre director Stephen Thorne plots a sensational production of a Greek tragedy in order to ruffle feathers in the small city where he lives.  Accompanied by an eccentric and fly-by-night cast and crew, he prepares for opening night, unaware that as he unleashes the play, he has drawn the attention of an ancient and powerful forces.

So, I was actually really excited to get this book.  I’m a docent at the Parthenon in Nashville (only full sized replica in the world – look it up), so this stuff is seriously up my alley.

When I started reading, I was hooked from the first paragraph.  The chapters are really short – most are only a couple pages – and they flip between characters of all sorts.  And, it’s almost formatted like a script, which is unique but not weird since we’re talking about a story that takes place in the world of theatre, so you get somebody’s name and then the paragraph is their dialogue or thoughts.

This is both what I love about the book and what I have issue with.  While I love everything about this because of my background, I think that if you aren’t somewhat versed in Ancient Greece, theatre or the like that you’re not going to know who some of the characters are and/or you’re not going to like following along.  There are no transitions, there’s not a lot of development with people that the author assumes you know, etc.

And it’s because of this that I’m rating the book as I am.  While I think it’s awesome, I think that it’s going to appeal to a very specific demographic, and I think that if you don’t have the background for this that you might lose a little bit of the story.  I think you should check it out, but I think you’ll know in the first few pages if it’s going to be for you or not.  So I’m giving it a solid four out of five pages.

522774_295266757254418_375784932_n

I don’t know why this is required, but here it is:

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review from First Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

