Book Review – Jedi Apprentice: The Uncertain Path by Jude Watson

Title: Jedi Apprentice: The Uncertain Path

Author: Jude Watson

Format: Paperback

Written: 2000

Published: 2000

 

Growing up as a child I was exposed to the world of Sci-Fi from a young age.  I was more familiar with the crew of the Starship Enterprise that I was with the Berenstain Bears.  Thus it was not a far jump for me to fall in love with and enjoy Star Wars as well.  Having grown up with such a love, I figured in middle school that if I enjoy watching Star Wars and Star Trek I would enjoy reading it as well.  Truth be told there were times that I can say I was dead on the money and other times where I was a little less than enthused by the book I picked up.  Just like any type of book there is a hit and miss pattern.  A hit I found back in high school was a series of books about none other than my favorite Jedi, Obi-Wan Kenobi.  The books focus on his time as a young padawan and I was all over this concept till I had trouble getting my hands on more meaning I couldn’t afford to buy more as the library where I was at the time was rather poor.

 

It was when I was looking for books for this site that the Jedi Apprentice books came back to me as something I never finished and always wanted to finish.  (You may actually find me doing a lot of that, finishing things I started long ago.)

 

Now I will admit right off the bat that the Jedi Apprentice books are geared toward young readers with Amazon.com stating that the book is for ages 9 and up, so very light and easy reading.  Yet for a fan of Obi-Wan the rather easy reading was not going to deter me as the story is still good all the same.  Thus I picked up from where I could last remember reading and it was in the middle of a story arch that I had nearly forgotten.  So I will admit that it took me a while to jog my memory but it wasn’t too hard as the stories are rather memorable and the important things were still with me.

 

This particular story picks up with Obi-Wan having actually chosen to leave the Jedi Order in favor of fighting for peace on a planet he had come to love.  The story follows not only Obi-Wan but Qui-Gon Jin as they deal with life away from one another.  Of course this isn’t much of a basis for a story so there is more, such as Obi-Wan being betrayed by those whom he trusted most, and Qui-Gon is assigned to investigate a rash of thefts in the nearly impenetrable Jedi Fortress.

 

Overall, the story was well crafted, and the emotions and reactions of the characters were very realistic without the magic of the store being about Jedi being broken.  In short, Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this story and I look forward to reading the next part which promises to be interesting as there was an attempt made on Yoda’s life.  I give the book a 4 out of 5 page rating with the warning that you don’t want to read this book until you have read the first five ones first. (Please note that the first book The Rising Force was written by Dave Wolverton rather than Jude Watson).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. why should i tell u my name?
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 21:14:17

    all of the reviews and summaries are way too small make them bigger

    Reply

    • Misheal Crocker
      Jun 22, 2013 @ 23:04:53

      To answer the first question is because it is polite and makes it easier to address you. That is why you should tell us your name. It doesn’t have to be a real one a fake one works just as well. Seriously, I use a pseudonym all the time when on the internet.

      That aside though, oh nameless person, I am sorry that the length of the review are not to your desires. I will admit that I have been very abbreviated in some of my other reviews this one not being my worst by far. Yet since your comment I have endeavored to included something more of a summary in my reviews, aside from that my reviews will still be fairly brief considering that people do have busy lives and I respect that. Additionally it is difficult to read for longs amounts of time on the internet and I like to keep that in mind as well when I’m reviewing.

      All the same thank you for taking the time to comment on my review and hopefully in return you’ll endeavor to give a name so as to ease the communication process! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

