Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Title: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Format: Hardback

Published: 2011

I first picked Divergent up because of two different recommendations.  The first recommendation came from a co-worker of mine who knew I had read the Hunger Game series.  Though I was not fond of the series as a whole as anyone who has read my previous reviews would know, the concept of another book similar to it was not a turn off but a point of intrigue.  I like the idea of the Hunger Games just not the execution, particularly when it came to its sequels and I was also curious to see if another could do it better.  I’m not sure if Veronica Roth succeeded in doing better than Suzanne Collins but she certainly didn’t do it worse even if there are some particular issues I had even with her work.  The other recommendation I received was via a YouTube video from an author that I highly respect and still need to read one of his books (I’ll get there eventually!) John Green.  It was after his recommendation that I determined that I truly needed to read the book!

Upon opening the book I found that there were certain plot elements that I recognized from a review done by Mandi, one of my fellow reviewers.  Realizing it I immediately came to the site to see if I could see if this was an eerie similarity between two different books or the same book.  Due to a fail in technology I could not find Mandi’s review and assumed that it was nothing more than an eerie similarity and continued to read to speak with my fellow reviewer and learn that she had done the book as well.   Considering I was more than half-way done with the book and it had indeed been over six months since her review it was concluded that a different perspective would not hurt anyone.

Once I got past the small feeling of deja vu with the book I admit I was skeptical at first because, seriously who ever thought it was a good idea to break the world up or rather the destroyed city of Chicago into groups based on personality traits.  I was oddly reminded a bit of Hogwarts with the Erudite being Ravenclaw, Dauntless being Gryffindor, and Abnegation being Huffelpuff (though Amenity comes close being the same) then there was Candor the random fifth group focused on the absolute truth.   Though it was explained why society broke up in such a bizarre way it was still weird and made little sense such as the reason as to why the Great Lakes were dried up something even Mandi pointed out in her review.

Yet, despite the weird situation that the novel is set in I kept reading as I found myself curious as our main heroine Beatrice debated about what to do because she is like every other human being in our time and is a Divergent, a person who doesn’t fit in to one personality type.  Of course it isn’t enough to throw a teenage girl into the situation of not knowing who she really is death has to be on the line as well in determining this idea,  just to give it a little more intrigue!

Though it comes across that I am trashing this book, I’m not really.  I enjoyed the read such to the point that I couldn’t put it down on several occasions and almost wound up late for work or not going to bet until the sun was staring to rise.  Despite the oddities of this book and the situation that Roth has placed her characters in the read is rather engrossing and if you like a little bit of odd and can ignore a few moments where the reality of the situation doesn’t gel then you will enjoy the book and I would personally give it a 4 out of 5 page rating.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandi M. Lynch, author
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 06:26:02

    My review of book 2 has been scheduled already, and… it doesn’t answer those questions either. I still say I cared more about what we haven’t learned about – why did society splinter, why did the Great Lakes dry up, etc – than some of the side story lines. But alas… Maybe in book 3?

    Reply

  2. The Background Story
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:49:58

    i also thought the factions resemble the houses at hogwarts. 🙂 it worked for school but would be too simplistic for a society.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Book Review – Allegiant by Veronica Roth | Book In The Bag
  4. Trackback: Book Review – Insurgent by Veronica Roth | Book In The Bag

Leave a Reply

