Book Review – Kinsey & Me by Sue Grafton

Kinsey & Me

Sue Grafton

Hardback

2013

 

So, if you’re not familiar, Kinsey Millhone is a gumshoe who goes around solving crime for the incredible price of thirty dollars an hour plus expenses in Sue Grafton’s alphabet series (A is for Alibi, B is for Burglar, etc).  The novels started about thirty years ago, but before that, there were a few short stories.

 

In this book, the stories were finally bound together.

 

Actually, it was first an intro, then a bunch of stories about Kinsey, then a second intro of sorts, then a few stories about… I don’t know who.  But I’ll get to that in a minute.

 

The Kinsey stories were decent.  There were a couple that were too short to be really good.  But the problem that I had was that Sue’s writing style doesn’t lend to a lot of story.  What you get, as with any awesome cozy mystery, is a bunch of characters that you really like.  And there’s nothing wrong with that.  It’s just that, in Kinsey’s world, you have some really incredible awesome characters.  And I seriously missed  Rosie in her dive of a restaurant, and Henry Pitts, her incredibly sweet, elderly landlord, and her interaction with cops and friends and whatever else.

Like I said, they weren’t bad, they just weren’t nearly as rounded out as the novels.  And I think that was part of the problem.  Had I not read the novels, I would have liked most of these stories a lot better.

 

Okay, next was a second prologue of sorts, a short intro by Sue before you launched into the And Me part of this book.  Except here’s my issue.  Some of the stories were about a character named Kit and written in third person, and some were written in third person, and even some were written in second person.  And I was sort of unsure if they were all fiction, even though the book sort of leans towards them being that.

Sue is an incredible writer; I actually liked her first person stuff better as a short story, and she managed second person quite well, which most writers can’t do.  I teetered between giving this book a three and a four, and in the end, when I couldn’t recall what most of the stories were about by just their title, it was clear.  Three out of five pages.  Worth a read, but not as good as the novels.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy Grieb
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 05:25:44

    Good to know. I will eventually get around to reading this one and am looking forward to it as I LOVE LOVE LOVE Sue Grafton’s writing. I just wish that it wouldn’t be a year before a new one comes out. That’s just too long to feed my habit LOL

    Reply

  2. Mandi M. Lynch, author
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 05:52:15

    Mom read it, too, and she said she only liked the first part of the book, not the second part. But I’m with you. I’m getting tired of the increasingly long waits between books, and honestly, I wish she would have just focused W instead of wasting time putting this together, even if it didn’t take her that long. I’d rather have the next book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

