Book Review- Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, vol 1

Title: Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, vol 1

Author/Illustrator: Naoko Takeuchi

Format: Paperback

Published: 2003

Translated: 2011

Usagi Tsukino loves food, sleep, and video games. She is allergic to anything that could remotely be construed as responsibility. So it is a bit surprising when a talking cat named Luna tells Usagi she is actually Guardian of Justice Sailor Moon. It can’t be possible, but when her best friend’s mother is taken in a plot to steal the Legendary Silver Crystal- a stone filled with enough power to rule the universe- she is called into action to not only defeat the powers of darkness, but to find her fellow Sailor Soldiers and protect her princess, wherever she may be.

It has been a while since I have read any of the Sailor Moon mangas, and I had forgotten a good deal of what they were like. I remember when I read them before I could not put them down, which is why it was so weird re-reading this first one, as it was not nearly as good as I remember. It was not a bad read, but it really did not hold much interest for me until the end. The storyline is decent, especially since it is just introducing the plot and the characters, and it moves at a good pace. I do appreciate the diversity in the character’s personalities, and especially like that Usagi is not the typically ‘perfect’ heroine. The one big issue that I had with it is that it is so jumpy. I had to go back and re-read some of the pages to make sure I did not miss something because the characters would be talking about some important detail in one graphic box, and the very next box would be about something completely trivial.

Overall, it was not a bad book, but it was not one of my favorites either. Overall, I give it a 3 page rating.

Leave a Reply

