Writer Wednesday – Jessica O’Gorek

gemini rising

Let’s start with the basics. Who are you?
Jessica O’Gorek

Tell us (briefly) about you…
I’m a mother, wife, author, full time sales person burning my candle at both ends. I dream therefor I will.

…and a bit about what you’ve written…
A series of young adult paranormal romance books that focus on Mother Earth, what we have done to her and how she might retaliate in the future.

…and what you’re working on right now.
Book 4 of my series.

What are your earliest book-related memories?
When I was twelve I was writing 2000 page romance novels in spiral notebooks.

What are your three favorite books?
Twilight, Eclipse and Braking Dawn

How many books to do you read at any given time?
I can only read one at a time.

What are you reading now?
Beautiful Chaos

Finish this sentence; when I curl up with a book, I ___
snack habitually.

To re-read or not to re-read that is the question.
Not

How likely are you to read a book that’s been recommended to you?
Eh, not very likely.

How likely are you to recommend a book (that isn’t yours)?
Very likely.

What do you look for in a good book?
Suspense, deep strong characters and very real environments.

Why do you write?
It’s fun. I love my characters and I miss them if I don’t let them play in the pages. It keeps me alive inside when the world around me is too painful.

If you couldn’t be a writer, what would you be?
An actress

Where do you draw your inspiration from?
The mystery of life, nature in the spring time and my beloved father

What has writing taught you about yourself?
That I am stubborn, smart and must addicted to creating

How do the people in your life seem to view your writing career?
They have their fingers crossed for me but I don’t think they think I will make it and that makes me strive even harder!

What do you see as the biggest challenge today for writers starting out?
Agents who don’t even bother reading submissions and the big publishers who won’t even consider your manuscript without an agent.

Have you made any writing mistakes that seem obvious in retrospect but weren’t at the time?
I am not good with commas, semi colons or the word “and.” Bless my editor!

Is there a particular project you would love to be involved with?
Making a 6th Twilight movie.

How do you deal with your fan base?
Well, when I have a fan base I will adore them!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica O'Gorek
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 15:09:47

    Thanks for being part of my blog tour!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

