Book Review – One Liners for Life

One-Liners For Life: Simply Profound Messages

Susan Spira

eBook (PDF version) 2013

 

I was asked to do a review of One-Liners For Life, so I broke my eBook rule because it’s so short.  That whole not having an e-reader thing makes it hard to read off the computer screen all day.

Anyway, the book features 400 one-line lines about love and life and people and places and whatever else.  If you’re familiar with Heinlein’s Time Enough For Love, these are basically along the line of Lazarus’s musings for life.

This covers the gauntlet from the remarkably obvious (“Embrace change.”  or “Life is not static.”) to the merely common sense if we thought about them (“Stop trying to impress others; impress yourself by coming first in your own life.”).  A few of them are really quite odd, such as “Chilling out is a personal revolution to step off the merry-go-round and reprioritize you.”  What?

 

I have to say, I don’t think there’s much of a point to this in eBook form.  It feels like one of those undersized books that you pay too much for and gift to friends with chicken noodle soup or leave on their desks when they’re having bad times.  These feel like statements waiting to be made into cheesy memes only to be over-circulated on Facebook.

A lot of them are redundant – tweak a word or two and then all of a sudden you have two lines instead of just one.  And really, all 400 of them boil down to a few very basic things: be a good person, take care of yourself mentally, physically, and spiritually, and give love to others.  It really doesn’t take 400 one-liners to know that, does it?

Also, there were a few grammar issues here and there – not many, but I caught them, and, well, they drive me nuts.  As a side note, the proper word is “okay” – “ok” isn’t really technically a word.

 

I suppose I should have known better.  I mean, I knew what I was getting into and yet I still hoped this was going to have something that made it different or better or worth it.  But alas.

I wish the author the best, but I’m glad I didn’t pay for this one.

I give it 2/5.

Leave a Reply

