Book Review – Waiting for Dad

Title: Waiting for Dad: A Yoga Story for Kids

Written & Illustrated By: Lakshmi Gosyne

Format & Year: PDF eBook, 2012

 

Okay, when I heard the title and concept, I thought that the book was going to go one of two ways; it was either going to be awesome or awful.  

So the book’s a pretty fast read.  The entire PDF is only 32 pages, and some of them are full page illustrations.  Basically, the kid is waiting to be picked up after school, and Dad isn’t there.  So the book is the kid’s imagination of what could have possibly happened to him.   And, for each scenario, there’s a somewhat appropriate yoga pose to go with it.

I have to say, the Yoga felt a little out of place in this book.  For instance, at the beginning, the kid waves to a friend and then we’re doing the “happy pose” – um.   While the rest of the book is illustrations, the yoga is photography, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I have to question who these kids are.  I’m guessing they’re the author’s children, but their positions are a bit sloppy – which is fine if they’re kids a the class, but since these are the how-to pictures, I’d really like to see better posture, you know? Their side stretch, for instance, is supposed to be stretching one side and curving.  It’s not supposed to look like a kid raising his hand.

Also, the layout was weird.  I wasn’t able to get a proper side-by-side view (whoever did the layout needed to put in a blank page near the front) so I was seeing the wrong two pages together.  I don’t know if being able to view this book properly would help or not, but the yoga and the text are sort of smushed on the same page, and I think that hurts the book a bit as well.  

The story itself was okay.  I think it ended pretty abruptly – another page would have been nice.  Or even another sentence.

 

So, it’s hard to rate this book.  Conceptually, I like it.  And I think that if, say, a teacher was reading this out to a class and getting them to do the yoga poses that it’d be kind of cool.  But just as a book to read, it falls flat.  Because we don’t do half page ratings here, I’m going to give the concept a three and leave it at the rest of the book needing tweaking to get there.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lgosyne
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 03:12:49

    Hi Catherine,
    I wrote this for kindergarten teachers to read to their classes, and you’ve made some great points! Thanks for the review.

    Reply

  2. lgosyne
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 03:13:59

    Oops I’m sorry I meant Mandi (Where on earth did I come up with Catherine?!?!)

    Reply

  3. lgosyne
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 04:19:14

    Oh, just one other thing with the layout. This is the original layout for the print book so reading it in a “single page view” in pdf may look strange. If you change the pdf view to 2-page view (Menu bar > View > Page Display> Two Page View) You’ll see that there is a large picture, the line in the story and a yoga pose to go with it whenever you turn the page. Again great review Mandi, I’ll make sure that the pdf opens in a “fixed” 2-page view for future books and reviewers. 🙂

    Reply

    • Mandi M. Lynch, author
      Sep 06, 2013 @ 18:55:23

      Thank you for explaining basic computer stuff to me. I’m hardly computer illiterate.
      However, what you’ve failed to grasp is that if you do that, you’re still looking at pages wrong. Most readers don’t put page 1 on the right in a 2-page view.

      Reply

  4. Bk Walker
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 12:10:04

    Thank you for reading and reviewing 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Guest Post/Virtual Tour with Giveaway ~ Waiting for Dad by Lakshmi Gosyne

Leave a Reply

