Book Review – Fancy Nancy’s Favorite Fancy Words

Fancy Nancy’s Favorite Fancy Words: From Accessories to Zany
Written By: Jane O’Connor
Illustrated By: Robin Preiss Glasser
Hardback, 2008

 

Fancy Nancy is awesome.  She’s adorable, redheaded, loves purples and anything french, and is totally the kid we wish we all had been.  I love her to death.

So when I managed to snag a copy of this book, I totally did, because if nothing else, I love looking at the Fancy Nancy drawings.  Seriously.

This particular book is an A-Z of all the Glamorous Vocabulary one can Yearn for.  Each word is introduced, defined, and – the best part, IMO – then used in a sentence.  I’ve seen a lot of A-Z books in my time, none have ever had this trifecta.

The words are cute, and certainly fancy advanced words, and there are a couple French words thrown in for good measure.  The illustrations are just as awesome.  I think this will end up on my keep shelf, even though I initially thought that I’d look at it and then pass it on.  Some things are just too cute to do anything with except keep.

So, when you want to look Dapper with your Lavender Parasol, make sure you have this book so you know what you’re talking about.  And if you have a little girl in your life, make sure you have it for her.

 

5/5

Leave a Reply

