Book Review – Red Robin: 7 Days of Death by Fabian Nicieza, Marcus To & Ray McCarthy

Title:  Red Robin: 7 Days of Death

Author/Illustrator:  Fabian Nicieza, Marcus To, Ray McCarthy

Format: Paperback

Written: 2012

After my first taste of Red Robin I knew I didn’t have enough, there was more to read and it had to be read because by far I have fallen in love with the character Timothy Drake.  I have always been a fan of Batman and the whole concept behind him and Red Robin is a branch off from the Batman story with a character that I can really sink my teeth into.  Tim is a character who is skilled in what he does and very cerebral and I love a cerebral character and thus Tim is my kind of character, particularly when you toss in a bit of a tormented soul which is what Tim is, but what Batman type character isn’t a little bit tormented?

Any way I picked up 7 Days of Death because it was simply sitting on the shelf with the other Red Robin comics that I have already reviewed and I picked it up and started delving in to find out half way through that I’m missing a whole collection that I need to read and might explain some things to set up for this book but it was still a good read all the same.  My biggest complaint is that the story jumped all over the place and one minute Tim is following X bad guy and his problems and then next thing I know he’s fighting Y bad guy and I was having trouble seeing connections save for maybe the idea that everything was loosely connected and this was a smattering of various adventures on the part of Tim.

Despite the jumping around I still enjoyed the read and the art work is strong and well done capturing the imagination and keeping my attention along with the words.  As I read through this book I found different directions I might want to travel in my comic reading.  I love the characters and they are what speak to me and hold my attention.  There are times when I found myself laughing and other points where I found myself wanting more to know more – where does Tim go next?  Sadly my last question I fear will not be answered as the Red Robin series that I have come to enjoy so much were some of the last comics produced before DC decided to transfer over to the new 52 universe – I have heard some bad things about it and would like to stay away from the new 52 at this time but I have a great deal of back log to read that will keep me entertained for hours.

I will advise that this comic book is not for children really as there is some partial nudity it grapples with various dark concepts as is the nature of batman along with a few other mature topics and ideas.  Overall, I would give this comic a three out of five page review and say it is best suited for Tim and Batman fans.

Leave a Reply

