Book Review – Invincible: The Ultimate Collection 2 by Robert Kirkman, Ryan Ottley & Bill Crabtree

Title:  Invincible: The Ultimate Collection 2

Author: Robert Kirkman, Ryan Ottley, Bill Crabtree

Format:  Hardback

Published:  2006

 

It took a few days before I could get my hands on the second book in the collection of the Invincible series but oh how glad I was that it was a quiet day so I could spend my time with my nose stuck in this book reading away at another 400ish page comic book.  Having loved the first one I was excited for this next one. Invincible is quickly becoming one of my favorite story arcs and super heroes.  He is fun he is real and the story deals with real life issues.

 

After the big reveal at the end of the first book we see Mark and those around him adjust to the changes in their life and the world around them.  The issue of alcohol abuse comes up, as well as drug use but it is done tastefully and realistically without it being an afternoon special either.  This book though phenomenal for the store it told was a big book of set up.  So many stories and so many issues are jammed into this one book, I am looking forward to the next book to see what problems Invincible will face first it was just a book full of delicious goodness as we met new villains and mixed them with a few old.  We saw a dynamic change in groups of friends and everything was just unbelievably fun!

 

I am sitting here just a day after reading it and am salivating for the next book which my comic book guru forgot to bring today so I shall be reminding him for it and demanding that the book be present by the weekend as I’m sure I’ll have the time to read then and will be salivating all the more for the next story to see what happens to these characters as what will become of the interesting plots that are developing not only for the main title character but the side characters as well!

 

Over all I would give this book a 4 out of 5 pages only because this is an in between book and did not have me reeling as much as the first one but don’t mistake this rating as this book not being a worthy read because it totally is!

Leave a Reply

