Book Review – The Garden of Abdul Gasazi

TITLE: The Garden of Abdul Gasazi
AUTHOR & ILLUSTRATOR: Chris Van Allsburg
FORMAT: Hardback
PUBLISHED: 1979

To continue my ‘read all the books’ of Van Allsburg, I picked this one up for no reason other than I liked the artwork on the front (all the topiaries are animals).
In the story, a little boy is asked to dog-sit, and of course he messes it up. The dog runs straight into a garden clearly marked as “no dogs” and the magician inside takes the dog.
There is some really cool magic-y stuff that happens in the story, and I like how it ended, although I do have to say that with the ending, it might be suitable for slightly older children (like 5ish?)…

I don’t really have a lot to complain about with this story, so I won’t. I give it a solid 4/5 pages.

Leave a Reply

