Book Review – Invincible: Ultimate Collection Vol 6

Title: Invincible Ultimate Collection Vol 6

Author/Illustrators: Robert Kirkman, Ryan Ottley, Cory Walker, Cliff Rathburn  FCO Plascenicia

Format: Hardback

Published:  2011

 

So it has been a while since I have done a review and I am not going to make excuses about that at all.  I figure they don’t matter and you probably don’t exactly care to hear them, so I’ll get down to the brass taxes and present you with Invincible Ultimate Collection Vol. 6.  It has been a while since I picked up an Invincible book simply due to cost and the ability to find it at the library/willingness to take the time to go to the library but I happened to be in the library and saw this sitting on the shelf.  It was a no brainer to grab it and hope I was remembering the last number I read correctly.

 

Fortunately for me I was correct and I eagerly dug into the book and was not disappointed to say the very least.  I will say straight up I love Invincible.  I have found most comics that I read by Image (the publisher) are always strong comics.  I would say that Invincible is close to one of my favorite comic stories second only to my first comic love of the Red Robin/Batman.  I have always loved Batman from the start and then quickly fell in love with Tim Drake the Red Robin after that but that is beside the point.  To say this comes close to this love is actually saying something to be very honest.

 

What I love so much about Invincible is the powerful story – there is pretty much nothing that the comic is scared to do and I appreciate that it gives a realistic story the super heroes in this series are just as real and human as humans they are super powered and have the same problems as real people of the world only worse because they have super abilities, instead of these abilities making them immune to certain things and making life better, in a lot of ways abilities make things worse.

 

If you have issues with spoilers when it comes to this series I would advise you stop this review here and go get the books and read them, I always give this series a strong review and they continue to stand up to the test of time if you want more information about the series then I advise you go back and find my review for the first book in the series which got a rave review from me because I intend to give some spoilers from this point on.  Don’t say you weren’t warned if you continue to read!

 

This story picks up giving us a bit of a flash back to a previous story that was featured in vol. 4 or 5 where Mark aka Invincible faced again Angstram Levy an thought he had killed him and the regret he felt for doing what he did.  After this flashback the story picks up with the world being invaded with various versions of Invincible destroying the world.  There is a lot of clean-up and repercussions of the destructions and yet all this aftermath is made interesting as you find yourself worried about the health of Eve then to have Viltrumite come to attack set on destroying Mark and his world – it is a gritty battle as Mark as no wish to push on as he blames himself for the destruction that happened though he didn’t cause it himself to Eve waking up and getting involved which brings the fight back into Mark all the more and there is a tone of gore which is odd for me to say this but it is awesome.  The visuals are bright and vibrant the art work is always amazing something I have always enjoyed about these books, clean and vibrant and well done.

 

Any way aside from the reactions the book sets up very nicely for the next one which will be my next review.  Over all, the story was strong and good and there were a few additional surprise twists that I was not expecting that I will not reveal because I don’t want to spoil everything.  So I would strongly advise you go out and get your hands on this series because it is amazing, the characters are strong and endearing and the story is pretty much always gripping.  Over all I would give this a 4 out of 5 page review.

Leave a Reply

