Book Reivew – Alice in the Country of Hearts The Mad Hatter’s Late Night Tea Party

Title: Alice in the Country of Hearts The Mad Hatter’s Late Night Tea Party

Authors: Quin Rose

Illustrator: Riko Sakura

Format: Paperback

Published:  2013

 

This is my second Country of Hearts Book where it focuses on a person that Alice picks and I’m not so sure I am liking the Country of Hearts stories.  This story focuses more Alice and the Mad Hatter aka Blood Dupre.  I have always had a sort of fascination with Blood, I kind of enjoy how he can be crass at times and I think he’s attractively drawn and there is just something about a particularly bad boy that I can’t help but enjoy in my fiction.  Not that I’m all about the bad boy’s mind you but really what isn’t to love about a handsome mafia boss?

 

Any way the story was more exposition about how Alice got to know Blood staring with hate and avoidance to the point of living at his mansion and working there.  Any ‘romance’ came from Nightmare telling Alice how if she is in a dream she can do whatever she wants because after all it is a dream and anything can happen in a dream.  To spoil the rest of the story Alice and Blood end up sleeping together to Alice discovering Blood spending time with the Queen of Hearts and thinking that she is nothing but a good time and nothing special to Blood when in truth she is more to him.  Of course I know what the relationship between the Queen of Hearts and Vivaldi is but I won’t reveal it, but there is a reason why he is sneaking around with her to say the least.

 

Any way I give this book a 3 out of 5 pages as I did not enjoy the story at all and it was a little more crass than I would have liked it to be.  Of course I notice now as I finish this review that this is the first in a series and I’m more okay with things not being explained and the relationship between Alice and Blood being strained as this story carries on to more books which I might read to see if they can redeem this story any but my rating still stands.

Leave a Reply

