Book Review – Alice in the Country of Joker The Nightmare Trilogy ~Dream Before Dawn~

Title: Alice in the Country of Joker The Nightmare Trilogy ~Dream Before Dawn~

Authors: Quin Rose

Illustrator: Job

Format: Paperback

Published:  2014

 

Though Nightmare has appeared in various Manga’s that I have read and reviewed already this particular book was my first introduction to Nightmare the character.  I admit when he was first described to me I wasn’t sure about him as a romantic character as he is rather sickly and coughs up blood. I also wasn’t sure about the whole thing of him reading thoughts as it got confusing at first what were thoughts and what was spoke aloud.  Eventually it gets figured out and Nightmare comes into his own in this story as he tries to prove himself as not as pathetic as he appears to be.

They go on a survival scavenger hunt where Alice has to take better care of Nightmare than he does of her at the start but eventually when things get dire Nightmare is perfection and practically swoon worthy in my books.  Then of course there is the fact that he can play the violin very well and the image that is invoked is very attractive.  The story shows a nice slow growing romance and it shows how Alice cares for Nightmare and hates how everyone fears him.  It is a powerful story in my opinion as Alice tries to change Nightmare some to keep him from being feared.  The out some and the story are sweet and I look forward to the next book in the series despite the fact that the drawings at times are odd and almost childlike at moments – not to say I could draw half as well because I can’t but Job is not one of my favored illustrators but it’s not at a point where I don’t want to read more of the story which is quite good.

 

I would give this book another 4 out of 5 pages and say this is a worthy read even though it does not present any of the plot that is found in the Circus of Liars story arch.  This book has a bit of the joker and has the seasons but aside from that the country serves as a back drop as I said in a previous review.

Leave a Reply

