Book Review – 101 Celtic Knotwork Designs

Title – 101 Celtic Knotwork Designs
Author* – David Courtney
Format – Paperback
Published – 2004

So, several of my friends have taken to drawing doodles and knotwork and whatever else, so when I stumbled upon this little book, I thought I’d grab it and get some inspiration.  Then I realized a few things about it, and, well…

For starters, the book is small (like four or five inches square) and fat.  On one side, it has a black and white line drawing of the knotwork in question.  On the opposite, the image in color.  And there’s a small caption.

When I first picked this up, I thought that it was cool and that it would actually make an awesome coloring book if they made it larger.  I mean, how cool to put your own designs in the empty knot frames?  I actually checked it from the library with the intention of copying a few favorite pages just to do that.  And then I got it home.  I realized there were captions on the pages and the knotworks in question were all taken from antiquities.

And then I was just incredibly sad about this book.  You see, if you’re going to tell me that it’s a knotwork that was carved in a sixth century something or other, I want to *see* the sixth century something or other it’s from.  And I think that once you realize that that has been taken from you, it takes it from a cute little art book to a sad book of what could have been.

I hate to do this to a book that had such promise, but… I think the book suffered from an identity crisis.  If it had been a true art book or made larger into a coloring book, I would have been happy.  But I think that this doesn’t know what it’s supposed to be.  So, I’m going to give it a 2/5 pages.  If you come across it somewhere and you can flip through it there, go for it.  Otherwise, what’s the point?

Leave a Reply

