Book Review – Thor God of Thunder

Title: Thor God of Thunder

Author: Jason Aaron

Artist: Esad Ribic

Format: Paperback

Publication:  2013

 

This book came to me on an off day when I was a little bored.  My Co-worker got a few new comics in and there was Thor God of Thunder sitting on his desk looking all shiny and pretty.  It just called out my name saying Read me!  Now I’m normally not a Thor fan the movies is the base of my knowledge of this super hero and I wasn’t that wild about the movies – to me the point of the movies is Loki.  Yes I am something of a Tom Hiddleston fan – I can’t help it!  Any way I still picked up the book curious and got sucked in rather quickly.

 

The story of Thor here is well crafted it is telling telling one story that arches over Thor’s entire life time.  It starts with a very young Thor who is visiting ancient Norse Vickings.  He is cocky and full of himself as ever and is faced with a rather intriguing foe that changes his view on life to some degree as he was almost defeated.  While this story is told in parts we are given flashes of the present day Thor that we know and are familiar with one that is part of the Avengers in some way and is in present day earth realizing that there was more to his past chance encounter and there is something much darker and sinister going on that there is something going about killing and destroying all the gods of all the worlds.  This is where it really gets intriguing.

 

Of course, this story is all told in chunks and also shows a future Thor known as Old Man Thor who is beaten down most everyone is gone and lost and he’s trying to defeat and unbeatable foe who simply won’t just end things.  Old Man Thor though in a sad situation is kind of fun and super awesome and tough.  The story though in bites and moving from time point to time point in Thor’s life is well told and gives you enough to keep you going and it simply just masterfully crafted for a three for one store about one person at different points in time.

 

Over all this book was fantastic and I have been clamoring for the continuation which I am finally going to be able to read here soon and I can’t wait!  Over all I would give this comic a 5 out of 5 pages as it was simply that good and even if you are new to Thor this is a good start you aren’t left lost and wondering at all.

Leave a Reply

