Book Review – TeenBoat

Title: TeenBoat!
Author/Illustrators: Dave Roman & John Green
Format: Hardback
Published:  2012

Okay, so I was browsing the graphic novel section of the library, and I came  across this.  Since the tagline is “The angst of being a teen, the thrill of being a boat!” I knew it would be cheesy, but I was hoping that it fell more on the lines of campy and less on the lines of the worst idea ever.

The book follows a few adventures with a kid we only know as TeenBoat!, and who looks a wee bit like Ron Stoppable from the old Kim Possible cartoon.  It doesn’t take long to decide that this book is every bit as campy as it first appeared, and I am so glad that the creators made it that way on porpoise.

(See what I did there?)

And I warn you now, the book has every single boat pun you can think of, plus a few you wish you hadn’t.  TeenBoat!’s love interest is a foreign exchange student named Nina Pinta Santa Maria. He wakes up covered in barnacle scales.  He falls in love with a Gondola on a school trip to Venice.

How campy is it?

So I found a new port of call named Catalina Safehaven.  Even though we’re in the same study hall, I never really noticed her because she always had her face behind a book.  But when she started reading Prince of Tides, it really caught my attention…

Yeah.  It’s totally like that.

So for a rating.  It’s campy, it’s silly.  But it’s short and it stands by itself. At around 130 pages, it’s worth it for a couple hours of your time when you’re in the mood for something light.  So I will give it a 4/5.

Leave a Reply

