Book Review – Dr. Horrible and other horrible stories

TITLE: Dr. Horrible and Other Horrible Stories
AUTHOR: Zack Whedon
ART: Eric Canete, Farel Dalrymple, Jim Rugg, Joelle Jones, Scott Hepburn
FORMAT: Graphic Novel/Paperback
PUBLISHED: 2010

Okay, I’m a Whedonite.  I won’t pretend I’m not.  I love just about everything he has ever put his fingers on, and Dr. Horrible is no exception.  So this has been on my TBR pile for a while now.

This book is pretty much a collection of origin stories.  How does Moist become Moist?  How sweet is Penny?  Just how awesome is the Evil League of Evil?

I liked that two of the stories have different viewpoints on the same scene in them.  I liked the artwork.  I liked the stories herein.  But remember that I said it’s a bunch of origin points.

I think the problem I had with it was that it was a whole lot of set up and a whole little bit of getting anywhere.

Ran into a friend in the couple days between reading this and writing the review.  “So…  Dr. Horrible graphic novel…”  “Uhhuh…”  “Whole lotta setup and a whole lack of story?”  “Pretty much.”

So it’s not just me.   I’ll give it a solid 3/5.  If you like the Singalong Blog, you should read this for further character development.  Just don’t expect it to stand on its own or be exceptional.

Leave a Reply

