Book Review – Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things

TITLE: Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things
AUTHOR/ILLUSTRATOR: Ted Naifeh
FORMAT: Paperback/Graphic Novel
PUBLISHED: 2003

Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things is volume 1 of I don’t know how many.  It collects issues 1-4 of the comic of the same name.

In this, Courtney and her parents move in with a creepy old Great-Uncle that nobody really knows because they want to be part of society’s elite and this is the only way they can afford to do it.  But the house is also occupied by the night things, and there are creepy crawlies in the woods and everywhere else.

Poor Courtney is faced with having to be the odd kid out in a preppy school, and her only friend doesn’t stay her friend for long.

Also, I want to put this here… It’s from the introduction:

Now that I’m an adult, … I see that I am part of the diaspora of kids that was driven from the village, for various reasons, and spent all of adolescense observing it from the outside.  We’ve formed our own tribes and, as far as I can see, we, the geeks, won.  We’re smarter, we’re independant, we’re more courageous, and we value each other more than the kids who fit in without effort, blending in and never really getting to know themselves.

If that’s the basis for the book, that book is the story of my people.  I may as well be Courtney.  Well, with a bunch of magic and weird stuff thrown in.  But hey, why not.

Now then.  Some cons.  The illustrations were in black and white.  And I don’t know if they were better in the original comics or not, but they were too small to look good in this format.  If this had been comic sized, I think they would have looked better.  The lettering was a little hard to read in some places, too.

So my rating.  I loved the story but had issues with the visual, and let’s face it, this is a visual medium.  I’m going to get the next volume if I can, though, so I guess they did good.  I will give it a 4/5.

Leave a Reply

