Book Review – Are you Alice? 2 by Ikumi Katagiri, Ai Ninomiya

Title:  Are you Alice?

Author/Illustrator: Ikumi Katagiri, Ai Ninomiya

Format:  Paperback

Published: 2013

 

As I said I was going to give the second volume a chance and really I’m not sold on this story line.  It has an interesting concept and I have a feeling that it has something to do with being a writer and writing with the talk of lost pages and ideas which is a story concept that I love and I am intrigued by these types of stories but at the same time there isn’t enough to keep me going at least not at this point.  The book just hasn’t been that interesting really.

 

The story moves forward but at a glacial pace, as “Alice” tries to gain access to speak with the door mouse.  This was what he was trying to do in the last book and he has still yet to speak with the door mouse as he kind of goes back and forth getting to know characters and more aspects about characters are revealed and it is simply confusing and weird.  I know Alice in Wonderland is confusing and weird and in some ways that is the point but at the same time it just is all really super flat and boring and I just can’t get into things at all.  Really the characters have no  character though there is such deep and rich potential so I doubt I’ll read the next book unless actually truly bored.

 

Overall I give this book a paltry 2 out of 5 pages and advise pick this series up only if you are bored and even then, honestly there are other and better things to do and read when you are bored.  Simply put I do not find the manga to be good at all.

Leave a Reply

