Book Review – Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Title: Dead Until Dark

Author: Charlaine Harris

Format:  Hardback

Published: 2001

 

For the longest time I have been curious about the Sookie Stackhouse novels.  I knew there was a TV show that was based on the novels and that the novels had to deal with some of my favorite mythological creatures Vampires and Werewolves, though truth be told I am more a Werewolf girl than a Vampire girl but seeing as Werewolves are not in the media lime light I’ll take what I can get.

 

Picking up the book, I was surprised and raptured away very quickly by the story it did not take very long for me to be sucked in and lost in the world of the story and intrigued by everything about Sookie and her relationship with the new local Vampire Bill, the characters were real and dimensional in my opinion and I simply had a lot of fun reading, it.

 

As there are lulls in my line of work, I tend to read at work.  As I was reading I found myself getting frustrated when I was expected to do my job.  I did it of course because it was my job but I wanted nothing more but to continue reading the book.  If it says anything I rarely read a book like this in one day and I pretty much read it in one day and I am clamoring for more.  I am quite literally sad that I don’t have the next book in the series, I have lots of books but not the next one.

 

To give an over view of the book Sookie is a girl with the ‘disability’ of being able to read minds who has always wanted to meet a Vampire ever since they had become known and acknowledged in society.  She met one and found that he was the one being that she couldn’t read the mind of.  From there they got to know each other and drew close as Sookie took it upon herself to look into the murders of some girls who are similar to her as a way to protect Bill the Vampire as Vampires were being looked to as the potential killers.

 

It is hard to describe the plot of the story in some respects but it is quite a good read and I enjoyed it very much.  Despite how much I enjoyed the book, I have to still give it a 4 out of 5 pages.  It is fantastic but I don’t think it quite hit the levels of a must read for all.  Good but not that good.

Leave a Reply

