Book Review – Hawkeye: My life as a weapon

TITLE: Hawkeye: My life as a weapon
AUTHOR: Matt Fraction
ILLUSTRATOR: David Aja, Javier Pulido, Alan Davis
FORMAT: Paperback/Graphic Novel
PUBLISHED: 2013

[NOTE:  I’m aware Misheal reviewed this at the tail end of 2014.  I put publishing my review off for a few months because of that.]

Hawkeye is my favorite Avenger, so when I found the graphic novel of this at the library, I was really excited.  I had waited the comics and was just never able to pick them up.   This volume takes Hawkeye 1-5 and Young Avengers Presents #6 and puts them in one issue.

Comic Hawkeye is a lot different than Screen Hawkeye, IMO.  I think he feels a little grittier, a little more raw, and there’s a whole back story there that you can tell is developed but you can’t quite see it yet.  Movie Hawkeye just doesn’t play that way.  But I think I like Comic Hawkeye more.  He has that Cowboy Bebop feel to him.

I liked the artwork (except that Clint was blond.  Ugh.).

But here’s my issue.  The book also includes Kate Bishop, and I feel like the book expected that I already knew who she was and what was going on here.  So when we got to the interaction between the two, I could have really done with a page of explanation.  I mean, the book is Hawkeye 1-5, so they should assume that anyone reading this doesn’t know anything about these characters.  And the Young Avengers thing at the end sort of felt like an add-on (and they don’t say on the cover of this volume that you should read anything else) so a reader would assume that it would stand alone.

In the end, I liked it.  I’d give it a 4/5, and I’m going to go look for the next one.

Leave a Reply

