Book Review – Invincible Vol. 8 & Vol. 9

Title: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection vol 8

Author: Robert Kirkman

Illustrator: Ryan Ottley, Corey Walker, John Rauch and Cliff Rathrburn

Format: Hardback

Published: 2013

AND

Title: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection vol 9

Author: Robert Kirkman

Illustrator: Ryan Ottley

Contributers: Cliff Rathburn & John Rauch

Format: Harback

Published 2014

 

Today, you get a two for one, which is appropriately timed, as tomorrow is free comic book day.  Yes, if you go to your local comic book shop tomorrow they may be giving out free comic books.  (Not all shops participate.)  But it is an awesome way to get a taste for some new comics and it is a load of fun.  At my shop I get a load of free comics and we have events going on and it is a blast.  If you have a good shop that is participating in free comic book day I encourage you to go!  It is the first Saturday in May every year.  Anyway, on with the review.

After my disappointment with vol 7 I wasn’t eager to go looking for the next books but I realized that vol 9 was just in and I decided why not go back and read the latest, sadly I forgot what book I left off with which I thought was vol 8 but clearly not.  So I had started reading vol 9 and realized rather quickly that I was missing a whole lot so I quickly scrambled to get vol 8 as vol 9 had a hold on it and due at the library so just before I had to turn it in, I did a binge read of both books not simply because of the impending due date but because I got that sucked in.

 

Vol 8  picks up with a good pace and clips along making up for the disappointment that was vol 7. The pace keeps up even in vol 9 such to the point that I cannot separate the two books very much.  I know in these books a lot is discovered and learned there is a lot of change and a lot of tensions. I wish I could cover all of the changes and issues that are covered in the books but at the same time I fear giving spoilers about the situation with the Viltrumites being on Earth and Mark with his ideas about how to do things to help the world be a better place to other issues that create a lot of interesting potential.  We learn more about some of the minor characters and finally get to see what happened with Robot and Monster girl while they were gone.

 

This section took up a good portion of one of the books but I highly enjoyed the read while others might find it a bit slow but I liked it. The art in this section was nice and I enjoyed it even though it was lower quality from the rest of the series.  Over all I feel like the quality of the drawing and the art has gone down with these two installments.  The art isn’t quite the same, it isn’t bad but it isn’t what it used to be to me.  I know on the cover of vol 9 Atom Eve’s eyes are bugged out and weird and it is very off putting to me that image.  Once in the story you don’t always notice it but every once in a while I would pause at the art work because it was just ‘off’.

 

Overall, I would give the books a 4 out of 5 pages because they were a good read and I enjoyed them.  If it gives you any clue I stayed up to about 3am reading these books when I had planned to read to no later than midnight that night as I was tired and had plans for the next day.  So I would highly advise that you keep with Invincible and when vol 10 finally comes out which will be quite a while till then you can bet I’ll be reading it.

Leave a Reply

