Writer Wednesday – Hank Quense

1. Who are you?
I’m an author who refuses to write serious scifi and fantasy novels.  There is entirely too much serious genre fiction IMHO.   Perhaps the best way to explain “me” is to use my official bio blurb:
Hank Quense writes humorous and satiric scifi and fantasy stories. He also writes about fiction writing and self-publishing. He has published 16 books and 50 short stories along with a few dozen articles.  He often lectures on fiction writing and publishing and has a series of guides covering the basics on each subject. He is currently working on a series of two humorous novels that take place in the Camelot era.
He and his wife, Pat, usually vacation in another galaxy or parallel universe.  They also time travel occasionally when Hank is searching for new story ideas.
2. What type of stuff do you write?
 For fiction, I write parodies. I love to write these kind of stories.  I’ve writen parodies on “First Contact” stories (Zaftan Entrepreneurs) and a space opera (Zaftan Moscreants).  I’ve destroyed two of Shakespeare’s most famous plays, Hamlet and Othello in one novel (Falstaff’s Big Gamble).  I’ve taken Wagner’s Ring Cycle of operas and made a shambles out of them (Wotan’s Dllemma).  My latest parody is a two-bookparody of coming-of-age stories and Camelot. (Moxie’s Problem and Moxie’s Decision)
In non-fiction, I’ve written a series of short books under the heading Fiction Writing Guides and another  called Self-publishing Guides.
3. What do you want to pimp right now?
I want to spread the word about the Princess Moxie Series.  the first book, Moxie’s Problem, was published last August and the second book, Moxie’s Decision will be available in October. (the ebook can be pre-ordered now).
4. What is your favorite book? (or three)
My favorite satiric book is Catch-22.  The structure of the book is great.  It starts of 90% humor and 10% horror.  By the middle of the bookthe split is 50-50 and at the end, it’s 90% horror.  My favorite fantasy novle is Lord of the Rings and my favorite scifi book is the Hitchhikers Guide to the Universe.
5. Besides the author hat, what hats do you wear?
I lecture quite a bit on fiction writing and self-publishing.  Learning the craft of fiction writing is tough and I like to help beginning writers by sharing my experience.  With self-publishing, I try to get people to understand it isn’t as simple as the web implies and to warn them about the huge number of scam aritists that prey on inexperienced self-publishing authors.
By the way, my lectures can be delivered via Skype.
6. Where can we find you?
I have a blog and a web site for my books http://hank-quense.com/wp and  http://strangeworldsonline.com/wp
 My Facebook fiction page is: https://www.facebook.com/StrangeWorldsOnline?ref=hl
 MY Facebook non-fiction page is: https://www.facebook.com/Strange-Worlds-Online-Non-fiction-439722529522496/timeline/?ref=hl
    
A Few Words On The End…
I’ve been asked several times if I have any advice for beginning fiction writers.  My answer is always the same: don’t start writing the first draft until you know the ending.  Why?  Because telling a story takes the reader on a journey from the story’s beginning to the story’s end.  If you don’t know the ending, how can you take the reader on that journey?
I know some writers say they just write and eventually the story moves along and the ending shows up. I have to accept that they can do that.  I can’t.  However, these writers must spend an enormous amount to time revising and rewriting existing scenes to agree with the new developments and endings.
I prefer to plan the story before I start writing the first draft.
Leave a Reply

