Writer Wednesday – Stephen Zimmer

Who are you?

I am just a guy who keeps moving forward.  But a major part of me is being a writer.  I love the creative possibilities and the call to living that writing offers to me.  

My works span several genres, from epic fantasy (Fires in Eden Series) , to cross-genre (The Rising Dawn Saga), to steampunk (the Harvey and Solomon tales), to horror (the Hellscapes short story collection), to sword and sorcery (the Rayden Valkyrie stories).  I have a wide range of interests, from practicing martial arts, to a love of history, travel, motorcyles, music and guitar playing, movies and filmmaking, and other activities.  All of it is a part of who I am, but like I said, at the end of the day, I’m just a guy who keeps moving forward.

What type of stuff do you write?

Epic fantasy, sword and sorcery, horror, steampunk and sword and sorcery are the genres I have been published in.  But I do have writing projects developing in YA dystopian and paranormal romance areas, though I do not have a projection just yet as to when I will be able to get those focused on (as I’m working on the followup to Heart of a Lion and the 4th Fires in Eden books right now).

What do you want to pimp right now?

At the moment, I’m touring in support of Heart of a Lion, which is the first book of the Dark Sun Dawn trilogy.  It is hard-hitting, dark fantasy/sword and sorcery that stars my heroine Rayden Valkyrie.  It is very action intensive and I feel that Robert E. Howard fans definitely would love it.  

I also had a brand new release last week, Hellscapes, Volume II, the second in my horror collection featuring tales that are set in various visions/depictions of Hell (hence the title!)

What is your favorite book? (or three)

My favorite book or three is the Lord of the Rings Trilogy.  That lit the fire in me at the age of seven.  But we will count that as one and mention a few more.  The Chronicles of Narnia we will also count as one.  The Lord of the Rings and the Chronicles of Narnia were at my foundation, in my childhood, and will always be the root.  Since then, there have been many works that have influenced me, from Clive Barker’s Books of Blood short story collection, to George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire, to, more recently, The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo, which was an amazing read.  

Besides the author hat, what hats do you wear?

I am one of the principle individuals with Seventh Star Press, a small press based in Lexington Kentucky focusing on speculative fiction that has about 20 authors and eighty titles at the moment, including several anthologies.  I am also the founder and director of the Imaginarium Convention, a convention all about creative writing that is held annually in Louisville, Kentucky.  The third year is coming October 7-9 of 2016.  I also serve as a volunteer literary programming director for Fandom Fest Louisville and Tulsa, as well as the Fright Night Horror Weekend.  I am also a filmmaker, and am in the process of developing a TV pilot project based upon the Rayden Valkyrie character.

Where can we find you?

The principle areas I maintain online are:

website:  www.stephenzimmer.com

Facebook:www.facebook.com/stephenzimmer7

Twitter: @sgzimmer

Instagram: @stephenzimmer7

Blog: stephenzimmer.blogspot.com

*

*

A Call to Live – The Real School of Writing

One of the core things about writing that I have come to realize and appreciate is the call to live that is inherent within it.  Experience is one of the best teachers out there, and life experience provides an abundance of invaluable lessons for writers.

Getting out and meeting people from all walks of life, traveling to numerous different places, trying out different activities, and taking risks all contribute to the growth of a writer.  From experiencing different kinds of people to different kinds of cultures, life experience offers an education unparalleled for developing your writing.  

A great many writers are introverts, so this is not the easiest path for some, but the rewards for one’s writing are tremendous.  Having extensive life experiences helps you to create realistic characters and cultures.  It helps you bring realism to the action and atmosphere of a story.   It inspires you in an abundance of ways, and even gives birth to new ideas.

Over the years, and now at the stage where I have eleven books in print, I have come to realize that being a writer involves a call to living.  I encourage all writers to try new things, go new places, and meet new people.  I am absolutely certain your writing will be the better for it.

Leave a Reply

