Book Review – Echoes of a Giantkiller

Title: Echoes of a Giantkiller

Author: E. Jade Lomax

Format: Paperback

Year Published: 2015

Echoes of a Giantkiller is the second story in the Leagues and Legends series by Lomax (review of Beanstalk here). I’m already on record for loving the way she writes, so I’ll try to restrain myself here.

Giantkiller starts almost immediately where Beanstalk leaves off – Jack, Gray, Rupert are off to the Mountains, tracking Laney as she travels with mage kidnappers to find out where they’re going. Of course, things can’t go smoothly with this group. Not only do they need to keep Laney (and then themselves) safe, Jack and Gray are forced into confrontations with their pasts.

I liked how the secrets came out organically – that Jack’s are basically thrust in his face until he can’t avoid, and that Gray’s sneak up on him until everybody has no choice but to notice.

George the Dragon Slayer. I loved George – it’s nice to have two strong female characters who are so different from each other. And it’s nice to see the changes in George from Jack’s perspective – we can tell she’s changed by the way they react to each other.

So my favorite character in this book: Rupert. Oh, man, do I have Rupert feels. I’ll be honest, he wasn’t my favorite in Beanstalk, but I adored him here. (Mild spoilers, but they won’t make sense until you get to this point.)

Rupert saved people quietly, his hands wrapped around theirs, explaining things in a low voice while he brought them back into balance.

Jack thought it was very fitting.

Laney loses her place as my favorite in this book, but not because she is any less awesome, but because everybody else steps up their game. I can’t wait to see what she does.

I’ll admit, I didn’t like Giantkiller as much as I liked Beanstalk. At first. Then I re-read both of them and seeing all of the earlier hints put in Beanstalk that pay off here, and seeing how all the threads tie together here, made them so much better. I’m pretty hard pressed to pick a favorite now.

4/5 stars, and I can’t wait until Remember the Dust comes out.

). I’m already on record for loving the way she writes, so I’ll try to restrain myself here.

Giantkiller starts almost immediately where Beanstalk leaves off – Jack, Gray, Rupert are off to the Mountains, tracking Laney as she travels with mage kidnappers to find out where they’re going. Of course, things can’t go smoothly with this group. Not only do they need to keep Laney (and then themselves) safe, Jack and Gray are forced into confrontations with their pasts.

I liked how the secrets came out organically – that Jack’s are basically thrust in his face until he can’t avoid, and that Gray’s sneak up on him until everybody has no choice but to notice.

George the Dragon Slayer. I loved George – it’s nice to have two strong female characters who are so different from each other. And it’s nice to see the changes in George from Jack’s perspective – we can tell she’s changed by the way they react to each other.

So my favorite character in this book: Rupert. Oh, man, do I have Rupert feels. I’ll be honest, he wasn’t my favorite in Beanstalk, but I adored him here. (Mild spoilers, but they won’t make sense until you get to this point.)

Rupert saved people quietly, his hands wrapped around theirs, explaining things in a low voice while he brought them back into balance.

Jack thought it was very fitting.

Laney loses her place as my favorite in this book, but not because she is any less awesome, but because everybody else steps up their game. I can’t wait to see what she does.

I’ll admit, I didn’t like Giantkiller as much as I liked Beanstalk. At first. Then I re-read both of them and seeing all of the earlier hints put in Beanstalk that pay off here, and seeing how all the threads tie together here, made them so much better. I’m pretty hard pressed to pick a favorite now.

4/5 stars, and I can’t wait until Remember the Dust comes out.

Leave a Reply

