Book Review – Mandie and the Seaside Rendezvous

TITLE: Mandie and the Seaside Rendezvous
AUTHOR: Lois Gladys Leppard
FORMAT: Paperback
PUBLISHED: 2000

I was first turned onto the Mandie series in third grade, which was <mumblemumble> years ago, by a friend of my mother’s who gifted me the first book.  Somehow, I missed the last ten or so books, and I’ve decided to go back and read them.

In Mandie and the Seaside Rendezvous, Mandie, Cecilia, Mrs. Taft, and Snowball have ventured to Senator Morton’s house for a short visit.  But Mandie doesn’t trust somebody, weird things keep happening (like her clothes being turned the wrong way in the wardrobe), and is that the woman from the cruise?!

Honestly, folks, I want to have more to say about this book, but there just isn’t much to say at all.  I think of all the Mandie books, this one might be the weakest.  There’s little mystery here, Mandie and her friend spend way too much time talking about her cat, and it just felt boring and repetitive.  I finished it because reasons, but if I wasn’t setting out to read the series, I doubt I’d care much. Also, I knew the answer like as soon as the mysterious guy was introduced to the book.  Usually with these, you at least get partway in the book before you know.

Unfortunately, I have to give the book a 2/5.  I think this suffered from being so late in a series, and I was glad when it was finished so I could move on to something else.

Leave a Reply

