Book Review – House Immortal

Title: House Immortal

Author: Devon Monk

Format: Hardback

Published: 2014

I love to read anything and everything. The faster I read a book the better I like it. I finished this book in a day and a half.

Matilda Case is our heroine. She is a no nonsense straight shooter. She is also a stitch. Abraham Seventh is our hero. He is tall dark and handsome and he is Galvanized. The world is a post apocalyptic and divided into 11 Houses,House Red, House Blue, House Orange and more. Each house controls a resource :power, water,electricity, faith for example. Each seems willing to do what ever they deem necessary to gain control. There are 12 Galvanized and they are owned by the houses. The galvanized are immortal.

The story pulls you into it and holds on until the end. It leaves you ready for the next book. I found it well written, none of the disjointedness that can yank you out of a good story. Ms. Monk writes a well crafted book. The characters are likable when they are supposed to be and despicable when necessary. I really want one of the tiny sheep or maybe the dragon.

I am looking forward to reading the continuation of the series. I give this a 4 out of 5.

Leave a comment