Writer Wednesday – Valerie Bowen

Valerie Bowen is a NaNo novelist working her way towards a dozen books in print, including a series where a portion of the proceeds go to charity.  But, as she’s told me nothing else about her, that’s all I’ve got by way of introduction. This is her…

Let’s start with the basics. Who are you?
I’ m a versatile writer with eight books under my belt. I love writing stories that can pull the reader into the characters world and make them feel the same emotions whether it’s love or terror.

Tell us (briefly) about you…
…and a bit about what you’ve written…
I have written two three book series, the popular For the Sake of Amelia series and the psychological thriller series titled Mind of a Madman. I would also like to mention I recently released The Drifter, another thriller and Shattered which is a novel based on a true story of psychological abuse.

…and what you’re working on right now.
I’m currently working on a novel titled The Enchanted Oasis which is also a thriller. The most exciting news, I’ve been offered the opportunity to write another based on a true story. This novel is about the very dangerous life of a well known individual…that’s all I can say at this time.

What are your earliest book-related memories?
I have always been an avid reader, and the earliest memory would have to be the Dick, Jane, and Sally books the children of the sixties had to read in the classroom.

What are your three favorite books?
Asking me to name my three favorite books really isn’t a fair question. I have so many novels that I have loved over the years. Since the question was asked, I’ll try to whittle it down. The first I would have to say is Swan Loch by Randy Mixter. Another favorite of mine, is The Immortal Highlander by Karen Marie Moning. Finally I would have to add The Southern Vampire series by Charlaine Harris.

How many books to do you read at any given time? What are you reading now?
I have been known to read four or five at a time, but currently I’m only reading one.

Finish this sentence; When I curl up with a book, I __
dive into a world of imagination leaving the day’s aggravation behind.

To re-read or not to re-read that is the question.
There have been many books that I have read and re-read.

How likely are you to read a book that’s been recommended to you?
I try to read every novel that has been suggested to me. Although, I do have to admit some have been far less than what I would call interesting and leave them before I have a chance to finish.

How likely are you to recommend a book (that isn’t yours)?
I recommend novels all the time. I have a blog, I have to be honest I haven’t kept up on, where I post reviews of novels that have been suggested .

What do you look for in a good book?
To me a good book has to pull me in and hold me there. If an author can drag his/her reader in within the first chapter or two, I’ll stay with it to the end.

Why do you write?
I write because the stories in my head need to be told. Every character has a voice and wants to be put down on paper.

If you couldn’t be a writer, what would you be?
I’m an architectural designer by trade, so I would continue on that path.

Where do you draw your inspiration from?
All my novels have a part of me. All the characters, even the villains, are pulled from people I have come across in my life. So to answer this question simply, I have to say my stories contain emotions and people I have encountered over the course of my life.

What has writing taught you about yourself?
LOL writing has taught me, I’ve had far to many nasty people in my life. Face it if I can write about psychological murderer and get his emotions and feelings on paper and believable…well I guess I’ve encountered some mean and nasty people.

How do the people in your life seem to view your writing career?
The people in my life rarely read my novels. The reason being, I make the scenes, all scenes life like. My friends and family aren’t into the true to life murders I write. I’m constantly being asked to write a novel without violence, you know a love and sweet romance…I just can’t bring myself to do it at this point in my life.

Are there any stereotypes about writers that you don’t think are true?
In every field there are typical stereotypes, and writers are no exception to the rule. I would classify a true novelist as a loner, happy in the worlds they create. True peace can be found within the comfort of one’s mind even if murder and mayhem are there.

What do you see as the biggest challenge today for writers starting out?
The biggest hurdle for writers, whether just starting out or if they’ve had a few novels published, is marketing. It’s tough trying to get people to take the chance on a new writer. Once your stories are introduced and you have a following, it tends to get easier.

Have you made any writing mistakes that seem obvious in retrospect but weren’t at the time?
Everyone makes mistakes along the way. I myself try to research and ask questions. I have spoken to numerous law enforcement officials when I was writing the Mind of a Madman series. I’m sure not every cop operates in the same manner, so in the end I’m sure someone is likely to say I’ve written something wrong. Just make sure if you’re writing ay a historical romance, do your homework.

Is there a particular project you would love to be involved with?
Well that’s a great question. As I stated above, I’m currently in the talk stages of writing a novel, based on the true life of an important individual. This would be my dream work.

How do you deal with your fan base?
Fans are great! Whenever I get an e-mail or a comment from a fan I’m elated. There are a few people I consider my biggest fans, and I always go above and beyond to make them happy. After all, fans are what drives the author in us all.

Finish this sentence; My fans would be surprised to know __
I’m more of a loner than they could imagine. Although I choose to be alone, I’m far from lonely.

Anything else we should know?
To read the available chapters for all my books: http://www.opusnpen.com and http://www.valeriebowen.com
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=valerie+bowen

Face book author page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Valerie-Bowen/140274682715104?ref=hl
Email: val2262001@yahoo.com

I also do anything to help. I offer cover designs at a very reasonable price. To take a look at my work or to inquire go to http://opusnpenblog.weebly.com/cover-designs.html

I also create book trailers and am willing to do them or assist in awy way I can. You can see my work on my site http://www.valeriebowen.com/book-trailers.html