Book Review- Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Book: Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Author: Judith Viorst

Illustrator: Ray Cruz

Written: 1972

Published: 1989

Publisher: Scholastic

 

Poor Alexander is having a bad day. He wakes up with gum in his hair, he gets squished by everyone else in the car, the teacher hates his drawing, and his brothers got him in trouble. Perhaps he really should just move to Australia.

I chose this book for the sole reason that when my illustrious roommate recommended it, she told me, and I quote, “You’ll sympathize with him, and they you’ll want to move to Australia.” How could I resist such a glowing commendation? The book is short, very short, but it does not take long to identify with poor Alexander, as I have shared many mornings similar to his. It is entertaining and fun, and in the end, you do indeed have a desire to move to Australia, just as Alexander suggested.

Over all, I give this book 4 pages. It is quick (great for those of us with short attention spans), fun, and brings out the inner child in all.